an introduction to my new blog:

I have found, as of late, that I feel disconnected from people and life. Some of that may come from the fact that I sit in a basement office for eight hours a day with no natural light and very little human interaction. It is in some ways an irony, because it contradicts a lot of who I am and what I believe about life – that we were made to experience and intimately know God and participate in His creation, which includes fellow human beings.

Another way I’ve felt disconnected is the realization that I’ve been offering very little of myself to others who are or were once important to me. It’s not really intentional, but it’s so easy to get caught up in the inner-workings of our own lives and not just share what’s actually going on. I find that I end up spending lots of time with my husband and some time with a few other close friends, but my family – who live at a minimum of 1,000 miles away, currently – and other good friends don’t get to see any of my daily life or interact with me in a personal way. Some of the people who I value most, I only see once a year or once every two years.

I’ve had many close friends leave town in the last year and a half, and it’s become easy for me to feel lonely, so when it comes to matters of disconnection, I often want to push the blame on others. But I know that it is important for anyone and everyone to put effort into their relationships, and I have not done so. So this blog will be my effort to reach out and even possibly reconnect, in a way, with family, friends, and if I meet someone new through this blogging endeavor? Hey, that’s great too. I’m planning on just posting what’s going on in my life. Hopefully I will not be lazy, and if that happens, I think this will be really enjoyable and great.

I hope that if you read my blog you’ll leave a comment and interact with me. If I’ve invited you to do so (and most likely, even if I haven’t), know that I value you.

Let’s begin!

Leave a Reply

