de-sugaring time

I have something to admit: I eat way too much sugar. I will even go so far as to say that I have been gluttonous this holiday season. And the rest of the winter so far. And this past fall, too.

I think the problem is my hankering for sweets. I have made more cookies in my married life than I ever did before; but you know what’s funny? Willy doesn’t even like sweets that much. I think I mostly make them for me. But it needs to stop. Because frankly, my pants don’t fit as well anymore, and I’m pretty sure I’m addicted to sugar.
A day or two before New Year’s Eve, I decided that I needed to try not to eat sugar for the whole month of January. And I have to confess… well, I’ve already slipped up and eaten some sugar. But I have been good about a couple things, and I’m going to try to stick with these and work on eliminating even more sugar things: I haven’t had any soda, candy or baked goods. Frankly, the holidays facilitate the consumption of all three, but being at home means that I won’t buy them (at least not the soda or candy) and that I have more control of what I’m eating.
I think the hardest thing for me is not wanting to snack, and mostly I like snacking on sweet things. But I’m realizing I just need to snack on healthier things (and also try not to munch if I’m not actually hungry). Today’s snacks: fruit and popcorn. We got a great popcorn popper from Willy’s parents for Christmas (thanks Stacy and Marlon!) which I think will be very helpful. Anyway, I could use some good snack ideas, if anybody has any. I am used to snacks like nuts, fruit, veggies and such, but I’m think some kind of homemade snack bar would be yummy.
I hope you and yours are doing well, and not suffering from post-holiday waistline enlargement as I am. 🙂
Leave a Reply

