joy and peace.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13

Yesterday Willy came down to my office so we could walk home and found me in a very pleasant mood… which is sort of out of the norm. Normally I let the frustrations of the day get to me, and by the time we leave I am either worried or frustrated about some random thing that’s going on in my office or in our lives. But for some reason, I had a really good day. Neither of us could figure it out.

I think the only explanation I can come up with is that I’d been reminded all day of God’s love and the transformation that we can have from His love and forgiveness. I want to continually be full of joy and peace – and when other people ask me to pray for them, it’s one of the things I usually end up really requesting of God.

I think I always ask it of God because it’s something that He really wants us to have – it’s listed as one of the fruits of the Spirit – and something that we can confidently ask for. There are times when I don’t know what to pray; I always want to pray in the will of God, and don’t want to just ask for what I would see as fitting. But I know that God always wants us to walk in His Spirit, being full of joy and peace, aware of the hope we have in His return and of heaven and the kingdom He will establish on the earth. A new heaven and a new earth! (It may sound cheesy, but I think that sounds incredibly amazing!)

Put simply, God loves me and you. He forgives us and does not treat us as we deserve, or as other people might treat us, or as we even think we should treat ourselves. He doesn’t want to punish us; He only wants to grow us into a reflection of Him so that His beauty will be shown through us. He is always loving, always merciful, and always our friend. I don’t know about you, but I can’t help but be joyous, peaceful and hopeful knowing that the One who made me and knows me is also my friend. Thank you Jesus! You are GOOD!

Leave a Reply

