music to our ears

Hello friends! I hope this summer is finding you all well and wonderful. I personally am relishing it, although we have spent a lot of time traveling and not a lot at home. Fortunately it looks as though we now won’t be leaving any time soon, having driven and flown enough places to cover two summers, really. So we’ll be enjoying our new home that we moved into in June, decorating and making it… homey!

My husband, being the cooler and more in-the-know spouse (okay, I just made that up now, but maybe it’s true?) told me recently about a really sweet music website, and I wanted to pass along the scoop. Check out grooveshark.com. Although Pandora is nice for discovering new music, I hate the fact that you put in an artist that you want to listen to, but actually hear very little of that artist’s music. Not so with Grooveshark! It’s pretty much the Napster version of Pandora: you just type in an artist that you want to hear, and it pulls up a bunch of their music that you can listen to – for free – without having to install/download anything in the process. I like THAT!

I have to admit though, I don’t listen to music like I used to. The quantity of music that I ingest and the amount of time I spend listening to it have severely declined from that of a few years ago. But I still like to think that I have pretty good taste, so in conjunction with my shameless promotion of Grooveshark (TM) I wanted to leave you a short list of some good albums to listen to if you bother to go to the site. (Disclaimer: these are definitely not new albums, but I like them all the same.)

– Loney, Dear: Sologne
– Loney, Dear: Loney, Noir
– Broken Social Scene: You Forgot It In People
– Laura Hackett (self-titled)
– Misty Edwards: Fling Wide
– Lauryn Hill: MTV Unplugged
– Soul-Junk: 1960

One thought on “music to our ears

  1. Pingback: grooveshark+ihop=blessing « girl without a country

Leave a Reply

