junk food is addictive

I’m pretty sure I gained a few pounds over the weekend. Willy had his senior thesis exhibition on Friday and his family was able to come up and visit for the occasion. We loved having family here but definitely ate too much junk! 🙂 We also ate healthy food, but ended up having much more processed food than usual. Um, at least I did. I guess I can’t speak for Willy, but I ate way too many Cheetos. (The puffed kind are my favorite snack food, and therefore my greatest weakness…)

I’m sure not everyone is like this, but for me, eating junk perpetuates eating junk. If I’m eating healthy, real food, I normally don’t crave sugar, empty carbs or salty, greasy, fatty snacks. But, if I start eating them more frequently, I lose my ability to control how much of it I eat, and then I crave more of it throughout the day. Yuck!

But today, I am getting back on track after a few weeks of somewhat lazy behavior, both in eating habits and physical activity. I ate a healthy, home-cooked lunch and dinner today and my junk food cravings that I’ve been allowing to continue lately are already diminishing. I looked at the ice cream in the freezer tonight and wasn’t even tempted. Soups like the one I made for dinner tonight are a mainstay in my repertoire and are great for weeknight dinners: quick, delicious and full of really nourishing/nutritious foods. Not any strange or hard-to-find ingredients, either, at least for me; it’s vegan, too, if that matters to you.

Give it a try!

Quinoa Cabbage Carrot Soup:
http://www.nourishingmeals.com/2009/09/healing-quinoa-cabbage-soup.html

One thought on “junk food is addictive

  1. i think you are awesome. I love that you can recognize your weaknesses and do something about it! I have this problem as well! eating junk food always leads to eating more junk food for me as well!

Leave a Reply

