Twitterature, January 2014

my current to-read pile from the library

my current to-read pile from the library

Lately I feel like I’m in a stage of “my eyes are bigger than my plate,” but with books instead of food. I spent most of the last two years unable to get English books for free or cheap, so now that I’m in a town where I have a library card, I’m going a bit wild. I’m also thrilled to have discovered that there is a very good e-book borrowing system called Overdrive that is now available both in my parents’ city and my husband’s parents’ town. I will be using that more once we move and I can’t borrow paper copies anymore, but for now, I’m really enjoying perusing the library stacks and feeling an actual book in my hands when I read.

Here are some of my most recent reads. If you’d like to share what you’ve been reading this month, feel free to link up, as I’m doing, at Modern Mrs. Darcy, where Anne hosts a Twitter-style (short, concise descriptions) book-sharing event. I’ve totally been stealing reading ideas from this link-up, but this is my first time to participate!

My January reads:

The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap: A Memoir of Friendship, Community, and the Uncommon Pleasure of a Good Book – Wendy Welch.
If you’re a used bookstore lover and an Anglophile, you’ll probably enjoy this book. Thick with Scottish references, anecdotes of small town life, and some very quaint writing. So far I’m loving it.

The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien.
A classic that I had to read again after seeing the most recent film by Peter Jackson. I really enjoy reading it when I’m in the mood for fantasy, but sometimes it’s a bit hard to get into. Some of my favorite scenes from the movie are really enjoyable in the book as well – mainly the journey through the Forest of Mirkwood and the escape downriver from the Kingdom of the Elves (but as I thought, some of the film’s content was lifted from other books besides the Hobbit!).

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail – Cheryl Strayed.
I love real-life travel and adventure books and heard great things about this one. In my opinion, this book is as much personal memoir as it is the story of hiking the PCT, some of which I didn’t really enjoy reading about. The writing was crafted well but I wanted more on the actual travel experience. I recently read Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods about his journey on the Appalachian Trail and found that book more to my liking.

An Everlasting Meal: Cooking with Economy and Grace – Tamar Adler.
If you’re interested in learning to use and re-use ingredients, cooking simply and deliciously, and you can overlook the prose that sometimes drags on too long, you really should read this one. Ms. Adler has a lot of interesting things to say about food and cooking, but the instructive bits of the book spoke to me the most. I’ve totally been inspired to create new meals from old ones, and to cook things ahead of time to use later (though I haven’t done that too much yet).

Someday, Someday Maybe – Lauren Graham.
I’m a huge Gilmore Girls fan, so I wanted to read this novel by the actress Lauren Graham. The story is about an actress in NYC who’s struggling to make it in show business while trying to stay attached to her roots and who she’s always been. It’s not the kind of book I’d read normally and in some ways it reminded me of The Devil Wears Prada. Still, it was fun to read. I usually gravitate towards nonfiction these days so I enjoyed zoning out while reading this book.

Have you read anything great lately?

6 thoughts on “Twitterature, January 2014

  1. Hi there – I read Wild very recently so was interested in your comments. I should check out Bryson’s book as a contrast. Also really enjoyed The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap; the humour appealed to me a lot!

    • Hi Jeannie, sounds like our reading interests overlap. πŸ™‚ Yes, I really loved all the historic and natural science content in the Bryson book. Hope you do get a chance to read it. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Just added Lauren Graham’s book to my wishlist. Also a huge Gilmore Girls fan (and Parenthood). I’m reading Touching the Clouds and also Desperate.

    • Hi Elle, I am so behind on Parenthood but hopefully I’ll catch up someday! Desperate sounds like a really encouraging book – I’ll add it to my Goodreads list. πŸ™‚

  3. Enjoyed your post! We definitely have the same reading tastes! πŸ™‚ I loved Someday, Someday, Maybe. I’ve had the ‘Stone Gap’ memoir checked out at the library, and never got to it. Your review is inspiring me to check it out again. I also have An Everlasting Meal at home. I started it, but put it down due to some of the lagging writing as well, but again, may be picking it back up soon. I’m in the midst of reading ‘Wild’ right now, and I’m really enjoying it. And your library pile looks like mine – it’s so fun to feel overambitious with a huge library stack, I must say!

    • Thanks for the comment! I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying some of these books, too. Yes, I do love having big pile of books to choose from, though it does tempt me not to finish the other books I’ve already started. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

